The CVRI supports Loyola clinicians and scientists via several intra-mural awards funded by the generous support of our donors. 

Please note that only Loyola University Chicago CVRI faculty members are eligible for these awards.


Edward J. and Eileen D. Prendergast travel fellowships (up to $1,000) 

These awards support Ph.D. students and M.D. students/fellows to travel to scientific conferences, especially when they are a presenting author.

James and Carolyn Beck equipment grant (up to $10,000)

This endowment provides funding for CVRI equipment that will benefit multiple faculty members and collaborative projects.

James DePauw grants for pilot projects ($5,000)

The DePauw grants support small pilot research projects, especially those involving collaborations between CVRI faculty that help advance our mission of deeper collaboration between clinicians and basic scientists.

Patrick Scanlon Collaborative Grants Award (up to $20,000)

This mechanism is for larger collaborations, particularly those between clinical faculty and basic scientists, which are larger in scope than pilot projects and can likely result in a published manuscript.