Wolf and Kettle Teacher Award

The 2019 Wolf and Kettle Teacher Award is presented annually to Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine teaching faculty.  Eligible faculty are rated as the top 10% of our clinical teachers, based on the number and overall rating of student evaluations of greater than 4.5 out of a 5-point scale.

Part of the Loyola University Chicago emblem, the Wolf and Kettle are symbols from the family shield of Saint Ignatius of Loyola.  The symbols represent the generosity of the Loyola family. The Wolf and Kettle Teacher Award, too, represents the generosity of our clinical teachers, who contribute to the development of future physicians.  

The Office of Medical Education performs an annual summative review of post-clerkship student evaluations.  Students are asked to review faculty’s overall performance based on several criteria, including setting clear clinical expectations, delivering timely and constructive feedback as well as directly observing students’ history and exam skills.

The following faculty have been identified as excellent clinical teachers and role models for the 2019 academic year.  The Stritch School of Medicine could not provide this critical part of medical education without their help. The Office of Medical Education appreciates their dedication in supporting our up and coming young physicians.

Awards by Department:

Department of Emergency Medicine

  • Brian Barbas    
  • Marco Cordero
  • William Davenport       
  • Williams DeAndre         
  • Joan Dimopoulos           
  • Jacqueline Dziedzic      
  • Hank Graziano
  • Kathleen Hegarty           
  • Shannon Lovett              
  • Ethan Meisel    
  • Joseph Mueller
  • Timothy Murray            
  • Kathleen Neacy               
  • Trent Reed        
  • Giles Simpson  
  • Ethan Sterk       

Department of Family Medicine

  • Dinah Ahomka-Lindsay              
  • Camille Billingslea         
  • Amy Blair          
  • Eugene Lee       
  • Julita McPherson           
  • James Winger

Department of Medicine

  • Meghan O'Halloran       
  • Ann Slasuraitis
  • Melvin Speisman

Department of Neurology

  • Jorge Asconapé               
  • Jasvinder Chawla           
  • Antonio Iglesias              
  • David Kvarnberg            
  • Matthew McCoyd          
  • Sean Ruland      
  • Michael  Schneck           
  • Sarkis Morales Vidal
  • Matthew Wodziak

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

  • Marian Acevedo Alvarez            
  • Akua Afriyie-Gray         
  • KaLee Ahlin      
  • Karen Deighan 
  • Jean Goodman 
  • Scott Graziano 
  • Elizabeth Mueller          
  • Thythy Pham  
  • Nicole Sprawka              
  • Sarah Wagner  
  • Paula White Prock        
  • Lena Wiley        
  • Freager Williams           
  • Abigail Winder
  • Linda Yang        

Department of Pediatrics

  • Rebecca Barbato            
  • Christina Benedict         
  • Bridget Boyd    
  • Hannah Chow  
  • Anne Drahos    
  • Joyce Gemson 
  • James Grace     
  • Mary Jones        
  • Matthew Leischner
  • Julie O'Keefe    
  • Pearl Peiyuan
  • Nadia Qureshi  
  • Heidi Renner    
  • Cindy Rubin      

Department of Psychiatry

  • Saiyed Humaira              
  • Ronald Lotesto
  • Edwin Meresh 
  • Rao Muralidhara

Department of Surgery

  • Bernadette Aulivola      
  • Carlos Bechara
  • Paul Crisostomo             
  • Daniel Dahlinghaus       
  • Ton-That Hieu 
  • Joseph Ogrodnik            
  • Darl Vandevender
  • Vinod Winston