Graduate Students

Alex Argianas

Alex Argianas

BS: Benedictine University
MS:
Infectious Disease and Immunology, Loyola University Chicago
Mentor: Dr. Francis Alonzo
Research:Status: PhD Student
E-mail: aargianas@luc.edu

Asiyya Ashraf

Asiyya Ashraf

BS: Neuroscience, University of Illinois Chicago
Mentor: Dr. Adam Driks
Research:Status: MS Student
E-mail: aashraf2@luc.edu

Bob Davis

Bob Davis

BS: Biology and Biochemistry, University of Iowa
Mentor: Dr. Alan Wolfe
Research: Regulation of Glucose-Induced Nε-lysine Acetylation by CRP and Acetyl Phosphate in E. coli
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: rodavis6@luc.edu

Xi (Tracy) Chen

Xi (Tracy) Chen

BS: Biology, Case Western Reserve University
MS:
Biology, Case Western Reserve University
Mentor: Dr. Francis Alonzo
Research:Status: PhD Student
E-mail: xchen13@luc.edu

David Christensen

David Christensen

BS: Biochemistry, University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana
Mentor: Dr. Alan Wolfe
Research:
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: dchristensen1@luc.edu

Ameera Bukhari

Ameera Bukhari

BS: Taif University, Saudi Arabia
MS:
 Biochemistry, Georgetown University
Mentor: Dr. Katherine Knight
Research:
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: abukhari@luc.edu

Margaret Bradley

Margaret Bradley

BS: Biology, St. Olaf College
Mentor: Dr. Edward Campbell
Research:
Status: MS Student
E-mail: mbradley4@luc.edu 

Christina Cunha

Christina Cunha

BS: Biochemistry, Loyola Marymount University
Mentor: Dr. Makio Iwashima
Research:
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: ccunha@luc.edu

Karina Durso-Cain

Karina Durso-Cain

BS: Psychology, University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign
Mentor: Dr. Susan Uprichard
Research: Defining the mechanisms and dynamics of Hepatitis C virus spread 
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: kdurso@luc.edu

Amani Eddins

Amani Eddins

BS: Molecular Biology, Hampton University
Mentor: Dr. Susan Baker
Research:
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: aeddins@luc.edu

Emily Field

Emily Field

BS: Biology and minor in Chemistry, College of St. Scholastica
Mentor: Dr. Chris Wiethoff
Research: Using adenovirus vectors to develop a protective MRSA vaccine
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: efield@luc.edu

Mary Flaherty

Mary Flaherty

BS: Biology, Loyola University Chicago
Mentor: Dr. Karen Visick
Research:
Status: MS Student
E-mail: mflaherty1@luc.edu 

Erica Fleming

Erica Fleming

BS: Biology, University of Iowa
Mentor: Dr. Michael Nishimura
Research:
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: efleming4@luc.edu

Sara Flury

Sara Flury

BS: Bradley University
Mentor: Dr. Francis Alonzo
Research:
Status: MS Student
E-mail: sflury@luc.edu

James Grayczyk

James Grayczyk

BS: Microbiology and Immunology, Iowa State University
Mentor: Dr. Francis Alonzo
Research:
Status: MS Student
E-mail: jgrayczyk@luc.edu

Matthew Hackbart

Matthew Hackbart

BS: Beloit College
Mentor: Dr. Susan Baker
Research:
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: mhackbart@luc.edu

Michael Hantak

Michael Hantak

BS: Biochemistry/Moleculary Biology, Biological Sciences, Illinois State University
Mentor: Dr. Tom Gallagher
Research: Role of the transmembrane protein IFITM5 in membrane fusion and osteoclast formation 
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: mhantak@luc.edu

Evann Hilt

Evann Hilt

BS: 
MS: Infectious Disease and Immunology
Mentor: Dr. Alan Wolfe
Research:
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: ehilt@luc.edu

Sabrina Imam

Sabrina Imam

BS: Biology, Cornell University
Mentor: Dr. Edward Campbell
Research:
Status: MD/PhD Student
E-mail: simam2@luc.edu

Ramiah Jacks

Ramiah Jacks

BS: DePaul University
Mentor: Dr. Makio Iwashima
Research: Determining the Direct Targets of Transforming Growth Factor-β (TGF- β) Signaling in T cells
Status: PhD Candidate
E-mail: rjacks@luc.edu

Irina Laczkovich

Irina Laczkovich

BS: Microbiology and Immunology, University of Michigan
Mentor: Dr. Francis Alonzo
Research:
Status: MS Student
E-mail: ilaczkovich@luc.edu

Robert Mettelman

Robert Mettelman

‌BS: University of Wisconsin-Madison
Mentor: Dr. Susan Baker
Research: Separating Activities of a Multifunctional Coronavirus Enzyme 
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: rmettelman@luc.edu

Michael Misale

Michael Misale

BA: Biology, Carthage College, Kenosha, Wisconsin
Mentor: Dr. Herbert L. Mathews
Research: Global nuclear chromosomal pattern; the impact of psychosocial distress
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: mmisale@luc.edu

Natalie Nidetz

Natalie Nidetz

BS: Biology, Indiana University
Mentor: Dr. Chris Wiethoff
Research: Uncovering the Mechanisms Underlying the Immunogenicity of Adenovirus Vaccine Vectors 
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: nnidetz@luc.edu

Anya Nikolai

Anya Nikolai

BS: Microbiology and Immunology, University of Michigan
Mentor: Dr. Makio Iwashima
Research:
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: anikolai@luc.edu

Travis Price

Travis Price

BS: Biology, Truman State University
MS:
Microbiology and Immunology, Loyola University Chicago
Mentor: Dr. Alan Wolfe
Research: Measuring human urinary microbiome stability; Redefining Urinary Tract Infection diagnosis in the context of the human urinary microbiota
Status: PhD Student Candidate
E-mail: tprice1@luc.edu

Won Paik

Won Paik

BS: DePaul University
MS:
Infectious Disease and Immunology, Loyola University Chicago
Mentor: Dr. Katherine Knight
Research:
Status: MD/PhD Student
E-mail: wpaik@luc.edu

Enya Qing

Enya Qing

BS: Beloit College
Mentor: Dr. Thomas Gallagher
Research: Assessment of cargo delivery by exosomes 
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: eqing1@luc.edu

Cecilia Thompson

Cecilia Thompson

BS: Biology, Loyola University Chicago
MS: 
Infectious Disease and Immunology, Loyola University Chicago
Mentor: Dr. Karen Visick
Research:Status: PhD Student
E-mail: cethompson@luc.edu

Alice Tischler

Alice Tischler

BS: Biology, Allegheny College
Mentor: Dr. Karen Visick
Research:
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: atischler@luc.edu

Krystal White

Krystal White

BS: Microbiology, California State Polytechnic University
Mentor: Dr. Alan J. Wolfe
Research: Female urinary microbiome
Status: PhD Student
E-mail: kwhite9@luc.edu