Alpha Omega Alpha Call for Nominations

Alpha Omega Alpha, founded in 1902, is the National Medical Honor Society dedicated to the belief that in the profession of medicine we will improve care for all by:

  • Recognizing high educational achievement;
  • Honoring gifted teaching;
  • Encouraging the development of leaders in academia and the community;
  • Promoting service to others.

Election to Alpha Omega Alpha is an honor signifying a lasting commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism, and service. A lifelong honor, membership in the society confers recognition for a physician’s dedication to the profession and art of healing.

Each year, you have the privilege of nominating a physician (Attending physician or Fellow) from your department to be inducted to AOA. This, ideally, is an individual who excels in the academic and clinical arenas and who exemplifies the spirit of commitment to teaching, service, and humanism so integral to this society, and who has not been previously inducted into AOA.

Please submit a PDF of your nomination letter articulating the reasons for your selection, along with the curriculum vitae of the individual, by e-mail to

Or you may send it to the following address:

Vikram C. Prabhu, MD
Department of Neurological Surgery
Loyola University Medical Center / Stritch School of Medicine
2160 South First Avenue, Maguire 1900
Maywood, IL 60153 

The deadline for nominations is December 1, 2018.

The AOA council at our institution will initiate a process to evaluate the candidate and keep you informed as to the outcome. The formal announcement of induction into AOA will occur in the Spring of 2019 and you will be notified accordingly.

Thank you for your participation.

Vikram C. Prabhu, MD, MS, FACS, FAANS
Professor of Neurological Surgery and Radiation Oncology
Loyola University Medical Center / Stritch School of Medicine