American Academy of Neurology Recognizes Stritch Chair with Lifetime Achievement Award 

Each year, the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) honors an educator who has dedicated his or her career to leadership, creativity, and scholarship with the A.B. Baker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Neurologic Education. In 2020, Stritch School of Medicine’s Department of Neurology Chair José Biller, MD, FACP, FAAN, FANA, FAHA, joined the ranks of those honored as the 30th recipient of the award. A prestigious honor, A.B. Baker Award recipients are considered legendary educators in the field of Neurology. 

I really do think his Friday morning lectures to residents speak to who he is as a dedicated educator,” said colleague Matthew McCoyd, MD, associate professor, department of neurology, Stritch School of Medicine. “As a physician and a department chair, there are a lot of things he could be doing with his time, and to prioritize meeting with our residents and students every week demonstrates how truly passionate he is about education.”

Prior to joining Loyola, Dr. Biller led the Department of Neurology at Indiana University for nearly 10 years. In addition to his academic appointments, Dr. Biller dedicated his time and leadership talents to direct the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (1994 to 2001) and chair the Certification Council of the United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (2005) and the Neuro-hospitalist Section of the AAN (2011-2012). He is a member of the AAN’s International Affairs Committee. 

Throughout his career, Dr. Biller has presented at nearly 700 conferences and medical centers and published more than 350 peer-reviewed articles. Medical students and neurology residents recognize him best for his must-read contributions to textbooks, such as Localization in Clinical Neurology, Practical Neurology, and The Hospital Neurology Book.

Join us in congratulating Dr. Biller on this incredible accolade.