Department of Surgery

The Department of Surgery is committed to excellence and innovation in clinical care, research, and mentorship to define the future of American surgery. We have grown considerably in its 30 years of existence. Today, the Department of Surgery at Loyola University Medical Center consists of 10 divisions.

Our divisions include:

  • General Surgery
  • Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Colon and Rectal Surgery
  • Intra-abdominal Transplantation
  • GI / Minimally Invasive Surgery
  • Clinical Informatics and Analytics
  • Surgical Oncology
  • Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy
  • Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, and Burns
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Dental Medicine
  • Surgical Research

The Department has developed active research programs in burn, shock, and trauma injury, health services research, inflammation, oncology, and vascular biology. Research funding is derived from a variety of sources including the NIH. The Department bears the distinction as one of the few surgery departments in the country with two NIH- training grants.